Interactive – Development – Markmaking and Portraits – Possible outcomes

Developing further from the portraits that I took with projections of different patterns and colours and the cut of portraits, I decided to use the mark makings that I made with the sound of music and overlay it on top of the portraits, as I wanted to make the piece more interesting, and adding something that was interactive with music into the piece. I placed them in a various way and in different places, using different mark makings that I created. I was very experimental with this idea, as I wanted to see what the outcome would be. I think I would develop this to a possible outcome, with the use of a different image and different placements of the mark makings. The pieces that I thought were more successful are the top pictures and the bottom left, as they are more colourful and more intriguing, as the colours bring your attention to it, as they are bright and bold. the unsuccessful pieces, I would say are the bottom centre and right, as they are quite plain and boring, the colours don’t attract you to it, but the colourful mark makings grab your attention more than the portrait itself. Another thing would be that I placed too much mark makings on the face, I could have expanded and place some of the backgrounds of the images. To improve, I could add a mixture of colour to the piece, or make my own patterns to look like a projection for the bottom centre and right images.

liv more paint.jpg g.jpg

Developing further, I decided to go through the same process of making the piece, but instead of using just the mark makings that I created using oil pastels and paint, I used my long exposed images of light painting (mark makings) and add an accidental image that I created with a see-through object, creating different light marks. I think both of these pieces are successful, as I didn’t place the mark makings on the face, it’s not too busy on the face, or too distracting. I also found that the coloured patterned images were more successful, as they were more eye-catching because of the colours presented in the portraits. I have cropped the images into squares because I want them to fit into my puzzles that I want to create. I wanted to create a sliding image puzzle, so I needed my images to be square. from these pieces, I learnt how to be more experimental with how I place things on my images, and not try to get everything perfect first time.

Leave a comment